Rude Parisians

Just went for a late lunch with Alyssa and had the MOST Parisian encounter thus far: as we were trying to squeeze into the booth next to this snobby, hipster couple at Le Basile in St. Germaine-des-Pres, I kindly asked them if they could move their table over a bit so that I could get by. They moved it about a centimeter (I needed much, much more than that), and as I tried my hardest to squeeze by, I accidentally knocked over a bottle of water on their table. I apologized profusely, in French, to get the typical Parisian response of nasty looks and unfriendly grumbles…as if I hadn’t asked in the first place for them to move the table so I could get by!
Ugh, Parisians…

Leave a Reply

