Satisfying My Sweet Tooth

There is nothing in this world I enjoy more than a sweet treat (now and then, of course). Especially on lazy Sundays when I am procrastinating from doing real work. Today’s project was simple Spice Cake Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting. Simple, delicious, and quite photogenic. I won’t lie, I use Betty Crocker cupcake mix – it’s yummy and easy, how could I resist such a combination? But the frosting is all me! I’ve provided the recipe that I used, which I found on the Food Network’s website and then just doubled it to accommodate all my little cupcakes. Enjoy!

Step 1: Mix together eggs, water, vegetable oil and cake mix...then lick bowl clean.

Admittedly, my favorite part of baking is the eating part: I eat it all – the mix, the cupcakes, the frosting – and enjoy every last bite. Spice cake is a particular favorite, I don’t know why but it was one of those few things I enjoyed as a kid that most other kids just didn’t get (raw shellfish was on that list too). I think I can blame my mom for my superior gastronomic taste, and I couldn’t be happier.

Goodbye, my loves.

I also love the fun baking cups I found at Target – polka dots make everything better.

Yum, school supplies

Hazards of combining academics with culinary arts: getting your pen covered in spice cake mix. The plus side: I then got to lick it off!!

The Frosting

By far the best part of cupcakes is the frosting. This cream cheese mix is to die for…literally: I think the amount of butter and sugar could probably kill you. The ¬†following recipe was taken from the Food Network, but I doubled it. This version is enough for about 24 cupcakes.

Ingredients

8 oz. unsalted butter, softened (2 sticks)

4 cups powdered sugar

8 oz. cream cheese (one small tub of Philadelphia)

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

This mess of ingredients turns into something quite beautiful after about 10 minutes of mashing and mixing.

Mash it all together, put in some elbow grease, and mix until smooth! Voila, the most delicious thing you’ve ever tasted.

Yummm!
Delectable...and a new color nailpolish to boot! Malaga wine by OPI - almost as yummy as that cupcake.
Ready for its close-up.

I am so glad I made cupcakes. Nothing solves all of life’s problems like sugary goodness. Plus, all the measuring and concentrating and pouring and eating makes for a therapeutic activity sure to take one’s mind off of even the heaviest of thoughts. These certainly did! Now what to do with all of them…

One thought on “Satisfying My Sweet Tooth

Leave a Reply

