Something to look forward to…

Okay so I admit I am a huge dork, and let that be a preface to what I am about to say. I am ridiculously excited for the release of “Howl”, the upcoming film starring James Franco as a young Allen Ginsberg. For those of you unfamiliar with great American poetry, let me inform you. Allen Ginsberg wrote during the 1950’s, a time of massive societal oppression, conservativeness that suffocated politics and everyday life alike, and the beginning of mass consumerism that would come to dominate American culture. Ginsberg and his contemporaries were the original hipsters – very well-educated New Yorkers with a style all their own, who considered themselves students of the Transcendentalists (Walt Whitman, Henry David Thorough, Ralph Waldo Emerson). They loved America, but saw that she was being corrupted by the advent of advertising, consumer values, and conformity. Ginsberg’s most well-recognized poem, “Howl”, acknowledges the madness disrupting society, and addresses such issues as communism, homosexuality, and the under-appreciated role of the writer in a culture that values hard work over everything else. James Franco, I predict, will play this role with perfection – he is, after all, the modern Renaissance Man, and if I had to guess, I would say he is probably a fan of Ginsberg’s work. Check out the trailer….

I hope you are as excited as I am…even if it’s just to see James Franco. I think we all know that’s where the true revenue stream will come from.

One thought on “Something to look forward to…

  1. can’t wait to see the movie! you need to watch it with me! Brings back memories of Jack Kerouac, Leonard Cohen, Doby Gillis, then Abbie Hoffman, Jerry Rubin, Tom Hayden and Bob Dylan a few years later.

Leave a Reply

