Mexican Omelet

Okay so it’s not really that Mexican, but I needed a snazzy title for this impromptu recipe that I made for dinner tonight. I am now in Centre Island Village, on Long Island, in the state of New York. What you may not understand about this is that Centre Island is truly a village – there is 1 road, and no grocery stores or restaurants or anything. Just really big, massive estates and their respective driveways. It is beautiful, but as I am incidentally without a car due to, ahem, complications, I had to be crafty as far as food. I also had to be sparing, since I am staying in someone else’s house and thus at their mercy for ingredients. I thought I was a goner when I opened the fridge, but upon careful investigation I realized that I had just enough to work with. They say that necessity is the mother of invention, and it’s true: this is one of the best meals I’ve made myself, and it was totally impromptu!

The most delicious omelet. Ever.

Ingredients

4 eggs (you probably don’t need 4, 2-3 would work, but as I was winging it I went for more just in case)

1 avocado, sliced

a few spoonfuls of cream cheese (I like a lot, but tailor it to your own preferences)

salt and pepper

a bit of butter

salsa (I used Tostito’s Chutney salsa, but anything would work)

De.Lish.Iss.

Process

In a bowl, combine the eggs and salt/pepper and whisk using a fork (I prefer more pepper and a little salt). Heat the skillet on the stove on medium, and melt about a spoonful of butter evenly in the bottom. When it’s warmed up, pour the egg into the skillet and let it become firm-ish and a little golden around the edges. I am not the perfect omelet-cook, but this method worked for me. If you have a better way of making the omelet go for it – I am not an expert! When it has reached this point, flip it over carefully (tricky, I assure you). Place the avocados in the center (kind of in a line down the middle), and then some dollops of cream cheese on top. Don’t let it melt too much! Fold over each side of the omelet into the middle and press down over the avocado/cream cheese. Hold the spatula down on top of the folded part to make sure it sticks, just for a few seconds or until you are sure it’s held. When ready, remove and place on plate. Add salsa on top of the omelet, and enjoy!

Mmmmmm. I'll be making this again.

This was amazing, especially since I was enjoying it while looking out over beautiful Oyster Bay. A gorgeous day, and another gorgeous meal!

The salsa adds the perfect amount of spice, which is offset deliciously by the cream cheese. Ah. Maze.Ing.
2 thoughts on “Mexican Omelet

Leave a Reply

