The Perfect Summer Appetizer

Fresh tomatoes call for a light summer dish that lets you enjoy their full flavor without cooking, dicing, or squeezing. Luckily, I have your solution. Caprese salad is an Italian dish that uses buffalo mozzarella and tomatoes to create one of the most perfectly light, delicious, and simple recipes that is also colorful and looks great on a dish.

I have the Italian side of the family to thank for this one.

Ingredients 

**The amount of each ingredient depends how many people you serve. Best to do it impromptu and use your judgement!

1-2 ball of buffalo mozzarella

1-3 tomatoes

olive oil

fresh basil

salt

optional: balsamic vinegar

Mmm. I want some.

Process

First, slice tomatoes into perfect round circles and lay on a plate. I prefer thinly sliced, but use your own preferences and slice to a desired thickness. Then slice rounds of buffalo mozzarella and place on top of the slices of tomato. Add a little bit of freshly chopped basil to each mozzarella/tomato, then douse the entire plate evenly in olive oil. Add desired amount of salt, and if you prefer, a bit of balsamic vinegar.

Dee-lish.

A great variation of this for large parties was something I frequently did in Paris. I sliced tomatoes to a size that would fit on a toothpick, and used buffalo mozzarella mini-balls (they sell packs of them at the grocery store). Using two large cups, I first put the mini mozzarella balls in one, along with an olive oil and balsamic vinegar combination (and a little salt) as well as basil flakes. I then poured them back and forth in between the two cups (kind of like how a bartender would make a mixed drink), until they were fully covered in the combination. I did this with the tomato slices as well, and then on each toothpick put one or two tomato slices and a mozzarella ball. I served them in little dishes after sprinkling a little more salt over all the toothpicks for taste. They were a huge hit, though a bit time consuming.

Mom digging in.

This is one of my favorite foods of all time, so I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

